This article explains user authentication, user roles, and user management.

Authentication

All people who enter a Wonder space have to authenticate, so teams have full visibility over who enters the space and can regulate access via the password. New users can authenticate through the most common platforms (Google & Microsoft), or by creating an account.

It also allows users to sign in with Single sign-on, so that they can access their spaces from any device or browser, without having to create a new profile again, or type in that password.

How to login and enter your Wonder Space

When you want to enter a space (by clicking on the space link) you'll end up on the login page which looks like the first screenshot below.

⚠️ Note that if you see this page for the first time, you will not be able to login straight away. The email you used to create your space will not work here and neither will the space password if you created one.

So, there are 3 ways to proceed from here:

  • If you have a Google Account, click on the "Continue with Google" button to authenticate via your Google Account

  • If you have a Microsoft Account, click on the "Continue with Microsoft" button to authenticate via your Microsoft Account

  • If you have neither of the above, click on "Sign up" at the bottom to create an account with us. That gets you to a 2nd page (see the 2nd screenshot). You'll need to enter an email address and set a new password. You will then get a verification email with a code that you will need to enter. Once that is done you can log in with the email and password you just created. Voilà you're in!

If you have any questions or concerns about user authentication, please reach out through the chat in the bottom right corner or info@wonder.me.

Roles

On Wonder, users have one of 4 roles: Admins, Members, Invited Guests, and Non-Invited Guests.

Admins

Admins are what you think they are: they manage the space and have all permissions. There is no hierarchy among admins on Wonder, i.e. no admin has more or fewer rights than other admins.

Members

Members are best understood as people who are part of your team and use Wonder on a regular basis. They can do anything admins can except for:

  • making account-related changes (e.g. changing billing, deleting the space, etc)

  • inviting people as admins

  • editing user roles or removing users

Guests

Guests are people who enter your space once or irregularly, e.g. externals who come in for a meeting, event or workshop participants or collaborators.

They can do anything members can except for:

  • seeing the list of users

  • inviting new people to the space (Admins, Members or Guests)

  • initiating shuffle

  • initiating broadcast (they can still request to join a broadcast or be invited to join a broadcast)

There is a difference between invited and not-invited guests. If you add a Guest to your list of users, that user is an Invited Guest. They can enter the space without having to type in the password. They will still remain Guests, unless you change their role to Member. This solution gives Invited Guests quick access to the space. Because they have to authenticate, your space is secure. As long as a Guest is not added to the list of Invited Guests, they remain Non-invited and will have to enter a password when entering.

Managing users

You can manage your user list through the space settings. It contains a list of all users who ever authenticated in your space.

  • If you would like to invite new users to the space, just click on ‘invite user’, select the desired role, and Wonder will send out an invite email. Note that only Admins can invite new users as admin. Members can invite users as either Members or Guests. Guests can’t see the list of users and can’t invite any new ones.

  • To change the role of a user, just click the dropdown next to their name. For example:

    • You can change Guests’ role from ‘invited guest’ to ‘guest’. This means that they will have to type in the password again (if the space has a password). This makes sense if the user participated in a workshop and the workshop is over.

    • You can turn Guests into Members, for example, if somebody from your company started using Wonder more frequently and you’d like to add them to the team properly.

    • You can add or remove admins. Note that this can only be done by other admins.

  • You can block users via the profile card (hover over their avatar to open it) or by upgrading their role to blocked in the user management table. Blocked users appear in the user management list, where they can be blocked and unblocked. Only Admins can block or unblock other admins, and only Admins and Members can block and unblock other members. A blocked user will be prevented from entering the space.

Did this answer your question?