As an admin, you can add or delete Areas: Areas allow you to structure your Space and act as a location for your team members to co-work and socialize. They can act as a way to see and hear up to 50 people. 🤩

Areas have two functionalities

Session activated Areas:

When there is a Session going on in an Area, any person that enters the Area will immediately begin communication with everyone else inside of that Area; you'll be able to see and hear up to 50 people in that Area! With a Session, you can have large-scale conversations and run your events smoothly.

Areas without Sessions:

When a session is not happening, the Areas simply serve as location markers inside of your Space. These Areas have no impact on the formation of Circles or the accessibility of your team members. They act as really great conversation starters, helping you to find people to speak about specific topics. Think of them as a paper map; you can see the location of the building, but you can't see inside.

The highlighted Area at the left of the screen has a Session going on; the translucent Area at the right does not. Admins can either start a session or stop a session by clicking "Start" or "Stop Session" in the "Areas" section of the Space Editor; you can also hover of the Area name. 🪄

Important:

  • A Space can have 15 Areas total; the status for each Area can be manually configured (as mentioned above).

  • If a Circle exists in an Area and a Session then starts, the Circle will be automatically moved outside the Area in order to not disrupt the communication.

    • Alternatively, anyone inside of an Area when a Session starts - but not inside of a Circle - will then automatically join the Session.

  • Areas can be added, removed, and have their status changed instantaneously at any time. This is done in the Space Editor. (If you're trying to add or delete an Area, make sure there are no Sessions happening). 😎

Did this answer your question?